ASEAN NCAP was set-up by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and Global New Car Assessment Program (GNCAP). At this level, ASEAN NCAP is also supported by the membership of automobile associations from Malaysia (AAM), the Philippines (AAP) and Singapore (AA Singapore).

ASEAN NCAP is governed by a Steering Committee (SC) and supported by a Technical Committee (TC). Recently, another level of support was established by forming Working Group (WG) for four important pillars of the current structure of ASEAN NCAP – Frontal Impact (FIWG), Side Impact (SIWG), Child Restraint (CRWG) and Safety Assist (SAWG).